US President Donald Trump has announced sweeping new travel restrictions from Europe, in a bid to combat the spread of the coronavirus. Trump announced tonight that all travel from Europe to the United States will be suspended for the next 30 days, except for the UK.

"To keep new cases from entering our shores, we will be suspending all travel from Europe to the United States for the next 30 days,"

Donald Trump, US President

Trump said the new rule will go into effect beginning on Friday 13th March 2020, at midnight.

"This is the most aggressive and comprehensive effort to confront a foreign virus in modern history.”

The Presidential Proclamation suspends the entry of most foreign nationals, who have been in certain European countries at any point during the 14 days prior to their scheduled arrival to the United States.

These countries, known as the Schengen Area, include: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. This does not apply to legal permanent residents, (generally) immediate family members of U.S. citizens and other individuals who are identified in the proclamation. More details on the Homeland Security site.

Trump said there will be certain exemptions made for certain Americans "who have undergone appropriate screenings".

"These prohibitions will not only apply to the tremendous amount of trade and cargo, but various other things as we get approval. Anything coming from Europe to the United States is what we are discussing. These restrictions will also not apply to the United Kingdom," Trump added.

While the ban is primarily focus on non-US traveler from Schengen area, there will be flights operating between US and Schengen area on a reduced schedule.

We are constantly updating this post and waiting for more news and clarity from all airlines flying between US and Europe. More details will be published shortly.

Travel Restrictions from China, Iran, Italy and South Korea to US

The Department of Defence separately announced on Wednesday that it was placing a 60-day travel restriction for service members, Pentagon civilians and families travelling to, from or through China, Iran, Italy and South Korea, among others.

These countries have received a Level 3 designation from the US Centres for Disease Control and Prevention.

American citizens, lawful permanent residents and their families who have been in China or Iran in the past 14 days will be allowed to enter the United States; however they will be redirected to one of 11 airports to undergo health screening.