Over the weekend, several countries have drastically extended their travel bans and quarantine rules to all foreign visitors. In addition, some of these countries are also asking all returning citizens to go on self-quarantine.

Whether you are visiting or just transiting through these countries, you will most likely be affected. Here are the latest updates that you need to know:

Norway Closing All Airports/Seaports To All Non-Resident Foreigners From Monday (16th March)

From Monday (16th March) 08:00 CET, all Norwegian airports and seaports will be closed to everyone, except for those returning home to Norway.

According to Forbes, the country now has more cases as a percentage of the population than China.

Norwegian Prime Minister Erna Solberg has clarified that some international flights will still be permitted to land, to bring in essentials goods and allow Norwegians to return home. Although the government has advised against all but essential travel, domestic flights will still operate.

Denmark Has Closed Borders To All Non-Resident Foreigners Until 13th April

Giving less than 24 hours notice, Denmark has closed its border to all non-resident foreigners on 14th March (Saturday). This travel ban will last for one month, until 13th April.

Only Danish citizens and documented residents of Denmark will be allowed for entry.

At the point of writing, SAS is currently reviewing how the closure of borders of Denmark and Norway will affect their operations.

Poland Has Closed Borders Until 28th March

Starting 14th March (Saturday), Poland banned all passenger flights for 14 days. All Polish citizens returning home will be quarantined for 14 days.

At the point of writing, LOTS Polish Airlines has suspended all flights from 15th March (Sunday) to 28th March (Sunday).

Australia To Impose Fourteen Day Quarantine To All Arrivals From Monday (16th March)

Starting 16th March (Monday) midnight, all arrivals, including returning home Australians, will have to self-isolate for 14 days. This new rule has just been announced hours ago, no new travel restrictions have been added.

New Zealand Has Imposed Fourteen Day Quarantine To All Arrivals Today (15th March)

All Travellers Arriving In New Zealand To Be Quarantined Amid Coronavirus Outbreak
New Zealand Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern announcing 14 days quarantine for all arrivals. Photo Credit: pedestrian tv

Starting today New Zealand has imposed 14 days quarantine for all arrivals, including its own citizens. However, those returning from the Pacific are excluded from this mandatory quarantine.

This additional measure is temporary and will be reviewed on 31st March.

Featured Image: Avinor