EU Ban Russian Airlines
EU Ban Russian Airlines

EU Bans 21 Russian Airlines Over Safety Concerns

The European Commission has banned 21 Russian airlines, including Aeroflot, over serious safety concerns, following the forced re-registration of foreign-owned aircraft in Russia.

The EU’s executive arm stated that these airlines do not meet international safety standards, announcing their operational bans or restrictions within the 27-nation bloc.

Last month, the Russian airlines started to re-register and fly leased aircraft with local airworthiness certificates after Russian President Vladimir Putin authorized the seizure of US and European-leased commercial aircraft in a move to secure domestic flight operations.

“The Russian Federal Air Transport Agency has allowed Russian airlines to operate hundreds of foreign-owned aircraft without a valid certificate of airworthiness, knowingly done so in breach of relevant international safety standards.

Adina Valean, European Transport Commissioner

Banned Airlines

The European Commission banned the following Russian airlines:

  • Aeroflot
  • Alrosa Air Company
  • Aurora Airlines
  • Aviastar-TU
  • Ikar
  • Iraero Airlines
  • Izhavia
  • Nord Wind
  • Nordstar Airlines
  • Pobeda Airlines
  • Rossiya Airlines
  • Rusjet
  • Rusline
  • Siberia Airlines
  • Smartavia Airlines
  • Ural Airlines
  • Utair Aviation
  • Uvt Aero
  • Yakutia
  • Yakutia
  • Yamal Airlines

Not a part of the Sanction against Russia

However, the commissioner clearly clarified that this ban is a measure taken based on technical and safety grounds only rather than as a sanction over Russia’s invasion of Ukraine. She said that “the Russian airlines concerned have knowingly done so in breach of relevant international safety standards. “

“We do not mix safety with politics. This poses an immediate safety threat.”

Commissioner Valean

The executive arm also added that all the situation would be closely monitored, and further actions might be taken if necessary.

After the addition of these 21 Russian airlines, the EU black list has now grown to a total of 117 airline companies from around the world, including airlines from Afghanistan, Iraq, Iran, Kyrgyzstan, North Korea, Nepal, and Sudan.

Feature Image by @Frenchpainter