Marriott merged loyalty programs back in August 2018. The programs that merged were Marriott Rewards, Starwood Preferred Guest, and Ritz-Carlton Rewards. The merger was a huge undertaking leading to lots and lots and lots of frustrations. Since the August 2018 merger Marriott has been living under the name for all 3 programs, Marriott Rewards, but come February 13, 2019 that will change.

Miami Beach Edition

Marriott’s new Loyalty Program is called Marriott Bonvoy

Marriott has announced that as of that February 13, 2019, Marriott Rewards, Ritz-Carlton Rewards, and Starwood Preferred Guest will be retired for Marriott Bonvoy. In addition the SPG Moments are being rebranded to Marriott Bonvoy Moments

Marriott’s CCO described the new program:

“Marriott Bonvoy marks an evolution in travel because it represents more than a loyalty program. Marriott Bonvoy is a travel program designed to bring to life our extraordinary portfolio of global brands in 129 countries and territories, while also providing endless inspiration for members to keep traveling and pursuing their passions.”

He additionally goes on to talk about the logo:

“Represented by a simple, bold and modern logo, Marriott Bonvoy is welcoming and optimistic. Our 120 million members have access to the world’s leading hotel portfolio at the best room rates and member benefits, as well our collection of Moments experiences that bring exploration and discovery of the world to the forefront.”

I’ll let you decide what to make of all that, but I will say that the logo seems uninspired and boring.

Other Changes

This also doesn’t come as much of a surprise, but Marriott will be rebranding their two highest elite tiers.

Currently Marriott has:

  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Platinum Elite
  • Platinum Premier Elite
  • Platinum Premier Elite with Ambassador service

Marriott will maintain Silver, Gold, and Platinum Elite, but:

  • Platinum Premier Elite will become Titanium Elite
  • Platinum Premier Elite with Ambassador will become Ambassador Elite

This should help top-tier members get proper recognition by staff members, as there were too many tiers with the exact same title.

Category 8 Pricing is coming soon

The cost for a standard room on the Marriott Bonvoy award chart will go from the current 60,000 points (category 7), all the way up to 85,000 points (category 8). Once peak pricing kicks in sometime later this year, that number jumps up again up to 100,000 points per night for a standard room. You can lock in bookings under existing rates now by booking a points advance reservation. If you go to pay for the reservation after the change has kicked in, you will need to process the award via the call center.

Bon voyage Marriott!

Feature Image Edition Shanghai